{"id":7747,"date":"2019-06-25T05:00:33","date_gmt":"2019-06-25T09:00:33","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/stpeterorthodoxchurch.com\/?p=7747"},"modified":"2019-06-25T05:00:33","modified_gmt":"2019-06-25T09:00:33","slug":"st-peter-newsletter-june-25-2019","status":"publish","type":"post","link":"https:\/\/stpeterorthodoxchurch.com\/st-peter-newsletter-june-25-2019\/","title":{"rendered":"St. Peter Newsletter June 25, 2019"},"content":{"rendered":"
The holy God-crowned Emperor Constantine the Great (May 21) built a church in Constantinople in honor of the Twelve Apostles. It was second only to Hagia Sophia among the great churches of Constantinople. Most Emperors and many patriarchs and bishops were buried in the church and their relics were venerated by the faithful for centuries. <\/p>\n
The historian Nicetas Choniates records that the Crusaders plundered the imperial tombs and robbed them of gold and gems. Not even Justinian’s tomb was spared. The tomb of Emperor Heraclius was opened and his golden crown was stolen along with the late Emperor’s hairs still attached on it. Some of these treasures were taken to Venice, where they can still be seen in St Mark’s Basilica. <\/p>\n
When Michael VIII Palaeologus recaptured the city from the Crusaders, he erected a statue of the Archangel Michael at the church to commemorate the event, and himself. In 1461, following the fall of Constantinople to Mehmed, it was taken over by the Ottomans and demolished to make way for the Fatih Mosque, which still occupies the site and houses Mehmed’s tomb.<\/p>\n